Approved May 11, 2010

Exeter Conservation Commission Work Session April 29, 2010

Present: Bobby Aldrich, Carlos Guindon, Sean Lyons, Jay Sullivan Ginny Raub, Don Briselden, Kristen Murphy and Peter Richardson.

The meeting convened at 5:30 pm in the Wheelwright Room...

Ms. Murphy circulated two prepared brochures for the Oaklands and Henderson Swasey Trails and asked for review and comments by the first week in May. Ultimately there will be one brochure for each trail site. As for the cost of the maps, permission is needed from the Board of Selectmen to charge a monetary amount for the brochures: if there is a rate change it must go back to BOS for approval. The cost to print was stated and a suggested price of \$1.00 per brochure was agreed upon. The maps will be available at the Planning office and on-line (at no cost to download) at Town website. Because the brochures are printed on a Town copier, there is the ability to print on an as needed basis.

Continuing with trails, on Saturday June 5, the Henderson Swasey Trails will be the site to celebrate National Trails Day: an idea that all Americans should be able to go out their doors and within minutes be on trails that wind through their cities or towns. One comment was the interaction with the bikers that also frequent the trails. Michelle Newman has agreed to prepare and present a more formal plan at the May meeting.

The members and officers for the 2010-2011 year were discussed. After a brief discussion Mr. Briselden nominated Mr. Aldrich for a 1 year term as Chairman. Mr. Richardson seconded the motion and passed unanimously. Mr. Aldrich nominated Mr. Lyons as Vice-Chairman and motion seconded by Mr. Sullivan and motion passed. Ms. Raub will remain as Secretary/Treasurer until said time a recording secretary is provided by the Town and then will remain as Treasurer. The terms and duties of the offices are being addressed in a revision of the by-laws being prepared by Mr. Aldrich. The voting members of the Commission are: Bobby Aldrich, Pete Richardson, Jay Sullivan, Carlos Guindon, Sean Lyons, Kevin Keaveney and Ginny Raub. The alternate members are: Don Briselden, Tom Gregory and Michelle Newman. There is one open alternate seat. Mr. Aldrich stated only 7 members can sit at the table and the alternates present should be identified at the meetings and the minutes should reflect the alternates present. It is the responsibility of the members to notify Ms. Murphy if unable to attend a scheduled meeting so as to obtain a quorum.

As to ECC sub-committees, Mr. Briselden gave some background on the Raynes Stewardship Committee; not presently active. He felt there needs to be a fundamental decision on what we want the Raynes to be; sustainable, educational, and historical or a combination. Mr. Richardson felt a more active involved committee of 3-5 people

willing to commit the time and energy is needed to move forward. It was suggested the Stewardship committee be a sub-committee of the ECC and composed of up to 3 (three) ECC members and include representatives with heritage, historical and structural knowledge backgrounds. A meeting of the present committee is set for May 5 but it will be advised it is an interim meeting and a new Committee is to be formed. Ms. Murphy advised the need for the 5-year lease language to be in place when the present 1 year lease with the Stuart Farm (Nate Merrill) expires in September. Ms. Raub stated Mr. Merrill is anticipating a response from the Raynes Committee if the Community Garden project is going to proceed with a garden area at the upper end of the field by the parking lot to which he is opposed. He may be told there is no plan to proceed at this time.

Meeting adjourned at 6:50 pm to allow members to attend the scheduled public informational meeting on the Scope of the Dam Removal Impact Study.

Respectfully submitted

Ginny Raub, Secretary